top of page
  • Writer's pictureJeff Sparling

Snubbed Again!



What does it take for REAL democracy? I takes debate, discussions AND NO ONE LEFT OUT!


In both of the gubernatorial debates for Michigan this year, there were only two candidates. You guessed it, the Green Party was not one of them. The corporate duopoly dominated the air waves while professing to be in the interest of democracy while squelching it at the same time. What do they have to fear? The truth?


What does it take for democracy to succeed, to realize there are more options on the ballot and that straight ticket voting does not mean you cannot vote Green for one race!


The closest the debate came to democracy was the protest outside the studios. What you didn't hear about that? No coverage by the duopoly supported media either. Fair? Democratic? I think not. The media feeds at the trough of the major parties and corporate sponsors so there is no need to pay attention to the little guys. David was a little guy wasn't he? Is that what they are afraid of?


My alma mater, Oakland University, hosted the last debate this week. The forgot to get our 'minor' party candidates the opportunity to be involved in the discussion. Guess who won't be getting any more donations from me! The place where I nurtured my political chops and studied political science and economics could not find a way to stand for true democratic discourse. Bummer...


I do not expect to win this race, but I do want people to know they have options. I will be back in two years planning to win!





7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page